Bonds

BDW13Another useful game element ported over from the *World series of roleplaying games, Bonds help your Star Wars roleplaying characters, of any system, form a more cohesive and meaningful team. In contrast to the original games’ layouts, Bonds in Star Wars are connected to your character’s Species, further reinforcing what is, for most Star Wars roleplaying games, an element with little overall impact outside of the aesthetic.

Find your character’s Species and write down their Bonds on your character sheet. At any point during play that feels appropriate, establish a Bond with another character and write down his or her name in the blank. Bonds are generally formed with another player character, but can be formed with powerful NPCs as appropriate. Bonds should normally be established early on in a campaign, but can be added in with minimal fuss to an already established Crew. This list of Bonds is limited and, quite frankly, derivative. Get creative and describe new Bonds for your character that you think are important to the story. Also, don’t be afraid to take a Bond that is shown in the list of another Species. This article is a suggestion and a starting point; it doesn’t dictate how your character feels.

For Galaxy Masters, keep an ear out for when your players use their Bonds to help develop and enrich the roleplaying atmosphere in your game in a meaningful and interesting way. Also, listen for how these Bonds can be used to your advantage, inspiring plot devices for you to use that, by their very nature, you already know some of your players are interested in. Reward and encourage such activity with a minor boon that makes sense to you in the fiction; such as a +2 to a die roll, a added Boost die, or an extra couple of experience points. Characters with Bonds have a special connection that affects how they interact with each other.

BONDS

DROID
_______________ is one of the few organics who treats droids as equals, and for that I respect them.
I worry about the ability of _______________ to survive in the galaxy.
I have sworn to protect and look out for _______________.
_______________ has been beside you since the beginning.

HUMAN
____________________ is the only link I have to my father.
_______________ is strong in the Force, I feel much potential in them.
I knew _______________ before they dropped out of the Academy.
_______________ knows incriminating details about me.

WOOKIE
I owe an unbreakable life-debt to ____________________.
____________________ rescued me from slavery.
_______________ is always getting into trouble. I must protect them from themselves.
_______________ lost their nerve and left it to you to do the dirty work.

RODIAN
____________________ smells more like prey than a hunter.
_______________ does not trust me, and for good reason.
_______________ is a liability and needs to be watched.
_______________ is soft, but I will make them hard like me.

GAND
_______________’s ways are strange and confusing.
I have guided _______________ before and they owe me for it.
_______________ will play an important role in the events to come. I have foreseen it.
_______________ does not understand life in the outer rim, so I will teach them.

TRANDOSHAN
_______________ is puny and foolish, but amusing to me.
_______________ shares my hunger for glory; the galaxy will tremble at our passing!
_______________ has stood up to you and didn’t break.
_______________ fought shoulder-to-shoulder with you in the thick of things.

BOTHAN
_______________ trusted me with a secret.
_______________ once ratted you to the authorities to save themselves.
_______________ and I have a con running.
I stole something from _______________.

DUROS
You’ve spend way too much time with _______________ on a long term trip.
_______________ risked their life to get me out of an ambush.
_______________ is keeping an important secret from me.
_______________ is woefully misinformed about the galaxy; I will teach them all that I can.

ITHORIAN
_______________ is a brave soul, I have much to learn from them.
I hope someday that _______________ will put down their weapons and try peace.
_______________ put a hand in when it mattered, and helped save a life.
_______________ owes me their life, whether they admit it or not.

MON CALAMARI
_______________ is a good and faithful person; I trust them implicitly.
_______________ is in constant danger, I will keep them safe.
_______________ has stood by me in battle and can be trusted completely.
I have foreseen a great danger that follows ______________.
SULLUSTAN
You got _______________ out of some serious danger once, and you’ll never let them forget it.
I heard rumors about _______________ long before I ever met them in person.
_______________ always places their faith in you to do what is best.
This is not my first adventure with _______________.

TWI’LEK
I often tease _______________, but I care for them more than they really know.
_______________ think they are your friend and you find that quite convenient.
_______________ gives in quickly to anger; I do not trust them.
You have a copy of _______________ ‘s secret file, but are afraid to look at it.

About C. Steven Ross

C. Steven Ross is the founder of Triumph & Despair. View all posts by C. Steven Ross

4 responses to “Bonds

  • Travis Shown

    This is pretty cool. Got any suggestions for rearranging it based on Career as opposed to Species?

    • C. Steven Ross

      I initially tried putting this together based on Career but was hitting a dead end. I have something else in the works, though, that I’ll be posting soon that gives some additional role playing tools based on Career.

  • PrimeLoki

    This is a wonderful idea. I’m playing with the idea of porting Bonds over to my next D&D campaign, which should be a lot easier. I wish I had this list when I started my Star Wars campaign though.

  • ozymandeus

    Awesome, I love it. These will be great for prompting players into thinking about relationships and ‘past’ adventures that they’ve had. Spending 30 minutes or so drilling into group relationships and bonds can make all the difference in how well the players get into their characters. I’d recommend that the GM ask at least one followup question for each bond a character has with another to get everyone thinking. For example, with a bond like “Han Solo got you out of some serious danger, and you owe them”, make sure to ask what danger it was and how you were saved.

    I’ll definitely be using this along with the Torchbearer-esque origin backgrounds.

Leave a Reply

